May 6, 2010

Wine Cork Topiary

Posted in Decorating, DIY Projects, Uncategorized, Wine Cork Topiary tagged , , , , , , , , at 7:14 pm by dotcomdecorator


I’m getting a slow start with the blog, but please bear with me and before long I will have things whipped into shape around here! The website is progressing, also slowly, and I am anxious to finish the core content so I can get on with the FUN stuff–interacting with my newfound web audience!

As a start, I want to share with you one of my DIY projects–this cute little wine cork topiary!

I have seen many cork projects–cork boards, cork trivets, cork wreaths, cork place mats, cork magnets–but nothing ever “floated my cork!”.  That is, until I recently saw a wine cork topiary at one of my client’s homes and fell in love with it!  I decided to create  my own version…

I created a materials list and set off to purchase the required items.  I was fast realizing this was going to be one of my “I think it cost three times as much to make than to purchase” projects! However, in the end, many of the materials were bountiful enough to make additional topiaries, thereby spreading the costs. Whew!

After I purchased the required materials, I culled through my bag of wine corks, selecting the best of my natural corks.  I still don’t know what I’m going to do with the synthetic ones; perhaps I will make an all-synthetic cork one? Any suggestions? Anyway…through trial-and-error, I figured out the entire process and  ended up with this whimsical piece!

This particular little topiary went to my sister-in-law and I created another for myself, and now have orders for a few.  While I’m happy to take your orders (and money), I decided to post this as a DIY project on my website. Here’s the link http://www.dotcomdecor.com/

I believe the instructions are detailed enough, but if you have questions (or suggestions to improve the instructions/project) please let me know!

Until next time, Viva Con Gioia! (Live with joy!),

TheDotComDecorator

PS:  If you’re wondering about the candle holder in the background, that is one of my favorite and most versatile decorating items–I’m sure to write about it at some point! It is the Customizable Tea Light Holder from PartyLite. If you want one for yourself, visit www.partylite.com to find your local rep.

Leave a Reply

