August 2, 2010

The Absent Blogger

Posted in Decorating, DIY Projects, Uncategorized at 9:43 am by dotcomdecorator


Hello again, at last! Summer has been busier than expected and each day my intent to blog falls lower on the to-do list.

I’ve been busy wrapping up a couple of client projects, looking at my business model, revamping my workroom, and readying myself for the (hopeful) surge in business that comes once the children are back in school. Between the work projects–I always have a hard time remembering what I do is work–I have started my own dining room makeover, beginning with sprucing up the hardwood floors.

My home decor is lite French Country, but I’ve decided to make some minor changes in the formal rooms and take them from Primitive French Country into a more traditional French Country style. The first piece of furniture to go was my beloved corner cabinet with rooster painting on the glass door, toile fabric on the lower doors, and hand-painted details on the remainder of the frame. I’m sure this piece will eventually be rotated back into the decor, but for now it will find a home in the basement.

Also relegated to the basement are two of the dining room chairs. I have decided to replace them with either a rush-seat or wicker settee. I have been scouring local shops and the internet for just the right piece, at the right price. During my quest,  I came across J. Covington, Interior Design, run by Jane “Cubby” Derby, which can be found at the following web address:  http://www.jcovington.com/ Cubby’s online portfolio showcases her clean, simple style, which exudes a sense of comfort and casual elegance.  To my eye, her style is the epitome of good design–comfortable spaces that don’t look overdone or like they belong in a Versailles palace.  I’m definitely a fan and encourage you to enjoy her portfolio.  Back to my search for the settee…

J. Covington also has an online shop at Ruby Lane, which can be accessed through this link http://www.jcovington.com/.  While they did not have a settee, their link to Ruby Lane reminded me of that great site! Ruby Lane is an online community of independent shops showcasing quality art, antiques, vintage collectibles and jewelry from around the world. Visit Ruby Lane at  http://www.rubylane.com/

So, while I visited a couple great sites, I’m still without settee. I know the right item will be found, it’s just a matter of keeping my eyes open for it!  In the meantime, I believe I’m going to transform my dated brass chandelier.  Removing some of the center support pieces will give it less of a Colonial  Williamsburg feel. Then with a coat of paint, the addition of crystal pendants and roping, I will have a charming and elegant addition to the dining room! Of course, I will keep you apprised of my progress as I get into that project!  The big question is, do I tell the husband first or surprise him after the fact? Hmmmm, thinking he likes surprises. No, really!

Until next time,

Viva con gioia!

The DotComDecorator

Leave a Reply

