September 15, 2010

My Daily Favorites

Posted in Daily Favorites, Decorating tagged , , , , , , , at 4:33 pm by dotcomdecorator


As promised, I will post–hopefully daily–some of my favorite things here. Since my perspective of “home decorating” encompasses everything from color selection to space layout, from entertaining for special occasions to keeping your space neat and tidy, this is certain to be a random collection of favorites! I will do my best to relate each favorite to home decor, but at times it might be a stretch to make the connection.  I think the most feasible way to do this is to recycle this posting, with the most recent favorite posted at the top. I’m always open to suggestions, so let me know if you have a bet ter idea! Look for updates in the “My Daily Favorites” page.

My favorite…

Way to make a kitchen look larger and brighter is to simply clean the counters of clutter, countertop appliances, and knickknacks; remove dishes from the sink; replace lightbulbs with fluorescent or true-color bulbs; and add fresh-cut flowers or a bowl of green apples, limes or pears.

Special occasion wine is the 2006 Shafer Merlot. Wine Enthusiast awarded it with 95 points and had the following to say: “Easily Shafer’s greatest Merlot ever. Certainly its richest, with fabulously concentrated blackberry, cherry, licorice, chocolate and cinnamon spice flavors. All this is wrapped into extraordinarily sweet, refined tannins. Addictively drinkable, but not a long ager. Best now and through 2012.”  This is my “go to” wine for special occasions, gift giving, and most enjoyed with a great meal, great conversation and great friends! All-in-all, I think it makes a great addition to a beautifully set table or hors d’oeuvres arrangement.

Home decor, antique and accessory website is www.horchow.com Here you will find everything from seasonal decor, to heirloom antiques, to tabletop settings, to unique pieces of furniture and some of the best lighting fixtures I’ve ever seen!  Happy browsing!

Today’s favorite is music by Ludovico Einaudi. While I have an appreciation for a vast range of music, I find the pureness of piano music soothing, inspiring, and balancing. It makes nice bookends for starting and finishing my day…a balance to the cacophony of tvs, radios, barking dogs, ringing telephones, and other sounds of my daily life! Enjoy…I Giorni by Ludvico Einaudihttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P2K7D-uMH2g&feature=related

Until next time,

Viva Con Gioia!

The DotComDecorator

Leave a Reply

