November 29, 2010

HoHoHo…Humbug!

Posted in Decorating at 5:07 pm by dotcomdecorator


Just a week or two ago I brazenly announced to my friends and family that I was “going to embrace Christmas decorating this year!” Yeah, maybe not so much. Here we are, just past Thanksgiving and I’m already procrastinating about Christmas decor.

For a decorator, this is the busiest time of the year and while I love that, I give 100% to my clients and the thought of wrestling a tree to adorn it with lights and baubles just about brings me to tears! I want(ed) to do so much more…I want(ed) to bring the magic and sparkle of Christmas to my home! I want(ed) to decorate each and every room with fun and exciting vignettes and new color palettes. However, as the hours and days tick by, I’m sensing a Plan B coming into play…

Plan B is actually the tried-and-true Plan A:  The same stuff I have been doing for the past several years, but probably even more scaled down this year.  A tree decorated with ornaments already on hand, a few strategically placed accessories, the nativity scene on the table, and minimal outdoor decorations. Not that I’m a Scrooge by any measure of the word, but I feel like one when I cannot meet or exceed my expectations of what Christmas should look like!

I am sure I will get on the Spirit Train eventually…a little Christmas music, a few good holiday movies, seeing my neighbors’ decorations go up and recovering from the turkey-induced stupor I’m feeling, will all help! While this may not be the year I project my inner Marilyn, Coco or Tiffany’s in my Christmas decor, I can always plan ahead for next year. In the meantime I may just wear a fabulous feather boa (aka Marilyn) and insanely glamorous jewelry (Tiffany’s) and great shoes (Coco Chanel) to one of the many holiday parties! Ohhhh, I’m liking this already…why not decorate myself instead of worrying about a prickly old tree!?

What about you? How do you decorate? What anxieties do you deal with this time of year? What quick solutions do you have? What inspires your decor? Share your holiday tips, tricks, and ideas with me! (please?)

Until next time,

Viva Con Gioia!

The DotComDecorator

Leave a Reply

