December 23, 2010

Where’s My Easy Button?

Posted in Decorating, Uncategorized tagged , , , at 8:54 am by dotcomdecorator


As Christmas draws nearer, I once again wonder why time suddenly seems to speed up, our to-do lists are so much larger than any other time of the year, and there is a palatable feeling of anxiety in the air.

Personally, I have known, for the past twenty-three years, that this is my busiest time of the year and while I mentally “gear up” for that, I also mentally hit the panic button before I need to! When I take a deeper look at the projects on my plate, I haven’t tripled, or even doubled my workload, the projects are not substantially bigger or more complex, but their deadlines, combined with all the “have to do’s” of the holiday season send me into a tizzy!

The other day I had a friend point this out to me. I don’t need reminding–I live it every moment of my day during this season. However, it was good to hear. Good to gain some perspective. Good to know that someone notices and doesn’t like the way it makes me crazy.  And most of all, good to have a friend who offers to step in and help, despite her own crazy life! Thank you…but, if you could just find my “Easy Button” I think I’ll be ok!

At two days from Christmas, my house is quiet, and I suddenly realized part of the hectic pace of this season is self-protection. If I keep busy, keep moving, and keep feeling engaged, it allows me to enjoy the hustle-bustle of the season.  Once I have finished my projects, done my shopping, and attended the parties, it gets quiet…too quiet. I miss friends and family members that have passed, I miss those who live away, and this year I will face my first Christmas without my children here on Christmas! We will celebrate, but it won’t be the same. That’s how life is.

Like all of you, I know I will face many challenges, opportunities, and changes in the upcoming year. One of my big adjustments will be seeing my daughter graduate college, which means my freedom from college expenses! While I don’t have a crystal ball, I am pretty certain this will also mean I will cut back and adopt a less frantic work pace. My goal for next year’s holiday season is to be in a different place–calm, cool, and collected. I will have one well-used “Easy Button” ready to pass on!

Peaceful Snow

No matter where you are, no matter how busy or stressed you are, let in the quiet–even for a few moments–and remember what the season is all about. Hold gratitude in your heart for all you do have–and we all have blessings to count, even when they look like burdens! My wish for you now and in 2011 is that love, peace, and joy are abundant in your life! Merry Christmas!

VivaConGio

The DotComDecorator

2 Comments »

  1. Kat said,

    Merry Christmas!! I almost got stuck in all the beautiful snow on Monday night.

    • Merry Christmas to you and your family too! All that “peaceful snow” isn’t so peaceful to drive in 🙂


Leave a Reply

