October 27, 2011

Butterfly Garden Girl’s Room

Posted in Decorating tagged , , , at 8:58 am by dotcomdecorator


Well, talk about letting the dust settle before being able to see clearly! I have been busy wrapping a few projects, tackling a new business venture–actually two!–and trying to keep up with daily life. Unfortunately, the blog was one of the first victims of neglect. However, I’m back and want to share some photos of a six-year-old’s room I have done.

This was an amazingly fun project and one which allowed me to witness the big reveal! The client (the six-year-old) only said she wanted her yellow room to be pink. Initially her ideas included huge dots in green and purple on the walls. I humored her, while thinking “not happening on my watch!” My thoughts turned to a secret garden and I began working in that direction, without saying one word to client or mom. The strangest thing happened…I finished the garden design and was struggling to come up with another idea to present when I got a call from the mom. Mom says, “I just wanted to let you know that this morning Client said she might light flowers, like a garden.” Score!

I showed mom the plan and left with a deposit to order materials. Client was told I had started working on ideas, but it would most likely be a project that had to wait until after Christmas. Truth was we decided to do the room while the family was away for a long weekend as a surprise to Client! Suffice it to say, it was just like one of the decorating shows…tight time lines, last-minute decisions, and the big reveal!

Smiles, tears, oohs and aahs, and a little girl who proclaimed, “I love my room, it’s not scary any more!” This is the reason I love my job!

Enjoy the before and after photos! And thanks for coming back…I won’t leave you so long next time!

The DotComDecorator

Leave a Reply

